• Person jumping
  • Image 3
  • dancers


Register Now

The Sport and Physical Activity Partnership for London

Barnet Celebrating Sport Awards

Barnet Celebrating Sport Awards

This year's celebration of sport awards evening 2010 took place on Thursday 11th November 2010, at the Arts Depot in North Finchley. Top British sprinter and Middlesex University athlete Montell Douglas helped honour the cream of Barnet's sporting crop along with Barnet football club players, visually impaired Paralympic Champion, Tim Prendergast, British Wakeboarding Champion, Jorge Gill, and the UK’s number one football freestyler, Billy Wingrove.

Barnet CSA 2010

Prizes were presented across 13 different categories, including sports performers, teams, coaches and volunteers. Each nominee received a framed certificate with winners also receiving an engraved glass trophy. The night will also honour Niall Fleming,18, from New Barnet who has won his age group in the Mini London Marathon three times, as well as Step into Sport volunteers, Barnet medallists from the London Youth Games 2010 and local clubs that have achieved Clubmark status this year.

Councillor Andrew Harper, Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Education, Children and Families, said: “Each year I am pleasantly surprised by the quality of the sporting talent in our borough. The awards are a wonderful opportunity for Barnet's sporting community to come together and celebrate each other's achievements. All the nominees should be extremely proud of what they've achieved and I warmly congratulate them all for their hard work and commitment.”

Nominees and winners of the 13 categories were as follows:

Young Sports Performer of the Year

Randula Karunarathna Shortlisted

Ken Kawamoto (Winner)

David Medzinskii (Winner)

Charlotte Wingfield (Shortlisted)

Sports Performer of the Year

Ovie Soko (Shortlisted)

Desmond Michael (Winner)

Coach/Community Exercise Instructor of the Year

Dava Deo Winner

Neville Polson (Shortlisted)

Zoe Newell (Shortlisted)

Service to Sport

Eric Browett (Winner)

Volunteer of the Year

Sue Munro (Winner)

Lawrence Headlam (Shortlisted)

Young Volunteer of the Year

Katie Wardley (Shortlisted)

Rozalina Gocheva (Shortlisted)

Hannah Czuprynski (Winner)

Young Disabled Sports Performer of the Year

Henrietta Rudman (Shortlisted)

Neil Smyth (Shortlisted)

Rayna Bocheva (Winner)

Disabled Sports Performer of the Year

Paul Rea (Winner)

Project of the Year

Fit2gether Project (Winner)

Barnet on the Move 2010 (Shortlisted)

Junior Team of the Year

Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers U15 Boys Squad (Winner)

Barnet Bulldogs U18 National League Team (Shortlisted)

Secondary School Team of the Year

St Mary's Athletics Team 2010 (Winner)

QE Girls' School Rock Challenge Team 2010 (Shortlisted)

The Henrietta Barnet School Tag Rugby Team (Shortlisted)

Primary School Team of the Year

Foulds Primary KS2 Athletics Squad (Winner)

Club of the Year

Barnet Copthall Swimming Club (Winner)

Barnet Badminton Club (Shortlisted)

  • Barnet Celebrating Sport Awards logo